Miranda Lambert performs "Bluebird" from the Bluebird Cafe at the 2020 ACM Awards. Photo courtesy Jo…

The biggest night of country music awards was … well it just was. 2020 has really taken grip on every aspect of the music industry, particularly the 2020 ACM Awards

Between the format, awards and deafening audience-less silence following each performance, the entire event held an aura of weirdness. Like all events these days, the entire show abided by pandemic-related regulations. The show featured pre-recorded segments as well as segments from different locations across Nashville.

Co-Entertainer of the Year winner, Carrie Underwood put it best, “2020, man.”

Unforgettable Performances

Keith Urban and P!nk’s performance of “One Too Many” as well as Mickey Guyton and Keith Urban’s emotional  “What Are You Gonna Tell Her,” lent themselves to this year’s show holding some of the most unique performances. 

Miranda Lambert, the most winningest ACM Awards artist, hit her song on the nose when she sang “Bluebird” from the Bluebird Cafe. She was followed by Carrie Underwood’s tribute to the incredible women of the Grand Ole Oprey. Carrie sang Patsy Cline’s “Crazy,”  Loretta Lynn’s “You Ain’t Woman Enough (To Take My Man)”,  Barbara Mandrell’s “I Was Country (When Country Wasn’t Cool),” Reba McEntire’s “The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia,” and Martina McBride’s “Broken Wing.” Simply incredible women’s songs being sung by an incredible woman. 

Also in the lineup of women performing at the 2020 ACM Awards were Kelsea Ballerini, Gabby Barrett, and Maren Morris. Taylor Swift also made a return to the ACM Awards after seven years away. She performed “Betty” from her 2020 surprise album Folklore

All of the entertainer of the year nominees collaborated on a medley of their greatest hits. Luke Bryan sang “Rain Is a Good Thing,” Eric Church sang “Drink in My Hand,” Rhett sang “It Goes Like This” from the Ryman, Combs performed “When It Rains It Pours” from the Bluebird, in addition to Underwood completing the compilation with “Before He Cheats.”

Above all, who can forget the most romantic part of the ACM Awards evening. Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani’s “Happy Anywhere.” Any cold hearted grinch’s heart grew a few sizes. 

Big Winners of the 2020 ACM Awards

In addition to incredible and diverse performances, the ACM awards evening allowed quite a few artists to hit it big. The biggest surprise was Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett tie-ing for the ACM Awards Entertainer of the Year Title. The surprise was not who was honored, but that there were two of them! “2020, man.”

Maren Morris also wins Female Artist of the Year, Luke Combs wins Male Artist of the Year and Album of the Year for What You See Is What You Get. 

Not a surprise, but an incredibly great honor is that Miranda Lambert is the all-time winningest artist in ACM history! Since 2018 Miranda has held this honor and she continues to dominate the country music scene over two years later with no signs of slowing down. 

2020 ACM Award Winners

Entertainer of the Year

Luke Bryan

Luke Combs

Eric Church

Thomas Rhett — winner (tie)

Carrie Underwood — winner (tie)

Female Artist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris — winner

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Maren Morris performs at the 2020 Academy of Country Music Awards. Photo courtesy of Brent Harrington/CBS.

Male Artist of the Year

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs — winner

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay — winner

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year

Lady A

Little Big Town


Old Dominion — winner

The Highwomen

New Female Artist of the Year

Ingrid Andress

Gabby Barrett

Lindsay Ell

Caylee Hammack

Tenille Townes — winner

New Male Artist of the Year

Jordan Davis

Russell Dickerson

Riley Green — winner

Cody Johnson

Morgan Wallen

Album of the Year

“Center Point Road” Thomas Rhett

“Girl” Maren Morris

“Heartache Medication” Jon Pardi

“What You See Is What You Get” Luke Combs — winner

“Wildcard” Miranda Lambert

Single of the Year

“God’s Country” Blake Shelton — winner

“One Man Band” Old Dominion

“Rainbow” Kacey Musgraves

“Rumor” Lee Brice

“What If I Never Get Over You” Lady A

Song of the Year

“God’s Country” Blake Shelton (written by Devin Dawson, Michael Hardy, Jordan Schmidt)

“One Man Band” Old Dominion (written by Matthew Ramsey, Trevor Rosen, Brad Tursi, Josh Osborne) — winner

“10,000 Hours” Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber (written Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd, Jessie Jo Dillon, Jordan Reynolds)

“Girl Goin’ Nowhere” Ashley McBryde (written by McBryde and Jeremy Bussey)

“Some Of It” Eric Church (written by Church, Clint Daniels, Jeff Hyde, Bobby Pinson)

Video of the Year

“God’s Country” Blake Shelton

“One Man Band” Old Dominion

“10,000 Hours” Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber

“Remember You Young” Thomas Rhett — winner

“Sugar Coat” Little Big Town

Music Event of the Year

“10,000 Hours” Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber

“Dive Bar” Garth Brooks feat. Blake Shelton

“Fooled Around and Fell in Love” Miranda Lambert feat. Maren Morris, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes, Caylee Hammack and Elle King — winner

“Old Town Road” Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus

“What Happens in a Small Town” Brantley Gilbert feat. Lindsay Ell