Secretariat Cowgirl Magazine
Secretariat with jockey Ron Turcotte winning the 1973 Kentucky Derby. Photo courtesy Pinterest.……

On the first Saturday of May, the horses still run. Although there will not be spectators or actual horses, the Kentucky Derby will once again grace the tracks.

Since Sir Barton won the first Triple Crown in 1919, only thirteen horses have ever held the title: Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), Affirmed (1978), American Pharoah (2015), and Justify (2018).

The Triple Crown is a series of three races that are traditionally run in May and June. The Preakness Stakes, Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes all differ in length with the Preakness being the shortest and the Belmont Stakes being the longest. Due to the COVID-19 state of affairs, these races will be held in September of this year. But that will not stop us from enjoying some Kentucky Derby action this May.

All thirteen colts that have won the Triple Crown will face off for a virtual Triple Crown showdown. Using modern technologies, all thirteen horses will be digitally raced together for a head to head showdown.

All bets and donations made as a result of this digital Kentucky Derby will be donated to COVID-19 relief. The Kentucky Derby organization has a goal to match $1 million in donations. For more information on all thirteen horses and to donate visit