Photo by Magdelena Wosinska.……
Jaime Wyatt will release Neon Cross tomorrow. The 11-song set was produced by the two-time Grammy Award winning producer Shooter Jennings and is her New West Records debut.
Neon Cross features Jennings on the song “Hurt So Bad,” Jessi Colter on “Just A Woman,” and Neal Casal on guitar, harmonica, and wurlitzer in one of his final recordings before his death in August of 2019.
The album is the anticipated follow up to Wyatt’s 2017 Felony Blues EP.
On Jennings as a producer, Wyatt said, “What really sold me on Shooter is that he understands grooves — he gets how to instruct a band to build a groove that is so powerful underneath a song. And it’s crazy because that’s what Waylon [Jennings, Shooter’s father] did. He always had these rad country songs with these super-weird, funky rock ‘n’ roll grooves under them. He would take things to interesting and unexpected places. Shooter has that same instinct.”
If there’s one lesson to be gleaned from Neon Cross, it’s that life, in all its inherent messiness, goes on. And through it all — good times and bad, triumph and trouble, dreaming and desperation — Wyatt continues, to borrow the title of one of her new songs, just L I V I N.

Jaime Wyatt Neon Cross Track Listing: 

1. Sweet Mess
2. Neon Cross
3. L I V I N
4. Make Something Outta Me
5. By Your Side
6. Just A Woman (Featuring Jessi Colter)
7. Goodbye Queen
8. Mercy
9. Rattlesnake Girl
10. Hurt So Bad (Featuring Shooter Jennings)
11. Demon Tied To A Chair In My Brain

Jamie Wyatt’s Neon Cross is available now via NEW WEST RECORDS.