Brandy Clark's new album "Your Life Is A Record." Photo courtesy……

Shania Twain and Orville Peck’s “Legends Never Die” Video

Canada’s top country icons have teamed up for a new music video, “Legends Never Die.” The song comes from Orville’s Show Pony EP, out now.

In the video, the fringe clad duo perform at a drive-in, movie and all. And Shania is back in her leopard cat suit, an ode to one of her classics maybe?

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Orville said, “working with Shania was a dream come true. Her music made me feel empowered as a kid and was a huge influence on me.”

RaeLynn’s New EP “Baytown”

Saddle up, it summer time! RaeLynn’s new Ep “Baytown,” is equally a summer bop and a “get on getting gone” anthem dedicated to her southern hometown. We want to be along side Raelynn in her water front Texas city, rocking along to her new EP!

“Never be ashamed of your hometown,” the 26-year-old singer told The Tennessean. “It doesn’t matter if it was a bad experience or a good experience. Your hometown is your hometown. It shapes you into being some version of yourself that you never would’ve been.”

Caylee Hammack’s Debut Record If It Wasn’t For You

“Larger than life, glowing with punk-rock energy, an electric technicolor persona” (HITS) breakout singer/songwriter Caylee Hammack’s debut album If It Wasn’t For You is available today. Hammack wrote and produced every track on the 13-song collection.

If It Wasn’t For You takes listeners on an intimate journey, from Hammack growing up in Ellaville, GA, braving a medical scare and coming out the other side of a bad love that was the catalyst for her turning down a scholarship to Belmont University and ultimately arriving in Nashville, TN. The LP exudes that Hammack is all about the truth, the complete, whole unvarnished truth. Some of country music’s most potent women have also thrown in on Hammack’s debut. With appearances by Reba, Ashley McBryde and Tenille Townes, Hammack is setting a bar for women across the genre. Hammack also continues to show her reverence for classic country music, just releasing a collaboration with Country music icon Alan Jackson: a special rendition of Don Williams’ “Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good.”

If It Wasn’t For You Track List

  1. Just Friends
  2. Redhead
  3. Looking For A Lighter
  4. Preciatcha
  5. Sister
  6. Just Like You
  7. King Size Bed
  8. Forged In The Fire
  9. Family Tree
  10. Mean Something
  11. Small Town Hypocrite
  12. Gold
  13. New Level Of Life
Caylee Hammack’s debut record If It Wasn’t For You.” Photo courtesy

Cassadee Pope’s new album Rise and Shine

Cassadee Pop dropped her new album Rise and Shine on August 7th and man did she rise to the occasion! She considers Rise and Shine her most personal album to date. In an interview with Country Now, Cassadee said “Rise and Shine is the most personal, but it’s also the least relevant to where I am in my life right now. So it’s interesting because Stages was so personal. With Stages, I wasn’t necessarily in that place when the album came out, but it was very recent, whereas this, with what the songs are talking about, a lot of them are about a time very far back in my life and my history.”

Brandy Clark’s “Bigger Boat” Music Video Featuring Randy Newman

The official music video for Brandy Clark’s new song, “Bigger Boat” featuring special guest Randy Newman, is premiering at CMT.  “Bigger Boat” is from the Grammy-nominated and CMA Award-winning singer, songwriter and musician’s critically acclaimed new album, Your Life is a Record, which was released this past March on Warner Records.

Created after the dissolution of a long-term relationship, the album features Clark’s most personal songwriting to date and was recorded largely as an intimate acoustic four-piece—featuring Clark, Joyce, Giles Reaves and Jedd Hughes—with subsequent Memphis strings and horns layered in with arrangements by Lester Snell.

Your Life Is A Record Track List

  1. I’ll Be the Sad Song
  2. Long Walk
  3. Love is a Fire
  4. Pawn Shop
  5. Who You Thought I Was
  6. Apologies
  7. Bigger Boat (feat. Randy Newman)
  8. Bad Car
  9. Who Broke Whose Heart
  10. Can We Be Strangers
  11. The Past is the Past

Kylie Frey’s “Spur Of The Moment”

Indie recording artist Kylie Frey has topped the Texas Regional Radio Report with her #1 smash hit “Spur Of The Moment.”  “Spur” marks her fourth #1 hit on the Texas Regional Radio Report and now holds the record as the fastest-rising #1 by a female in chart history.  

Humble to her core, when Frey heard the news she said “I’m thrilled, so happy that my friend,  and fellow songwriter Bri Bagwell and I are the first back to back female #1’s in the history of the chart.  I’m pretty pumped about it!”    

The Louisiana native has found a second home in the hearts of Texas country fans who have now claimed her as their own.  The fact that the feisty beauty has been embraced by both fans and some of the finest troubadours in Texas is no surprise.   Frey’s voice is powerful and unique while her lyrics are as authentic as her dusty, battle-scarred rodeo roots. 

Karen Jonas’ “The Last Cowboy (at the Bowling Alley)”

Fredericksburg, VA’s Karen Jonas is ramping up to the release of her newest album The Southwest Sky and Other Dreams – out August 28 via Yellow Brick Records. American Songwriter premiered Jonas’s new single “The Last Cowboy (at the Bowling Alley)” earlier this week, calling the song “warmly nostalgic and old-fashioned” and “vintage American roots country,” noting that the track “aims to take the listener back to years with less digital freneticism and more of the classic small community bonding that pervaded towns with cherished gathering spaces.”
“The Last Cowboy (at the Bowling Alley)” follows the release of “Pink Leather Boots,” a rockabilly inspired love story and trucker’s tale with an animated video that premiered exclusively via The Bluegrass SituationAnd “Tuesday,” a groovy, light-hearted song Jonas wrote about “feeling overwhelmed by grown-up responsibilities…becoming extremely overwhelmed, and going to take a nap instead.”

Listen to “The Last Cowboy (at the Bowling Alley)” and Karen Jonas’ latest releases wherever you stream music.

For last week’s picks check out COWGIRL’s Music on Mondays: Picks Of The Week 8/10/20!