Jockey Robby Albarado riding Swiss Skydiver #4, right, wins the 145th running of the Preakness Stake…

For the 6th time in the 145 year history of the Preakness Stakes a mare has won the roses at Pimlico!

The three-year-old filly was the only mare in the field of 11 competitors and was the only filly to run in the Preakness since Ria Antonia in 2014, who finished last. The last filly to win the race was 2009’s Hall of Famer filly, Rachel Alexandra. Swiss Skydiver was ridden by jockey Robby Albarado, trained under Kenneth McPeek and owned by Peter Callahan.

Legendary trainer Bob Baffert’s Thousand Words, took an early lead in the Preakness, followed every step by stable mate and race favorite, Authentic. In the end of the backstretch, Swiss Skydiver made her move and battled every stride with Authentic. As they crossed the line, it was a photo finish. Subsequently, Authentic crossed second with Swiss Skydiver prevailing.

The 2020 Preakness Stakes, similar to most major equine events this year, was held without an audience. Another major change with 2020 to thank, the Preakness was the last race is the three-race series, the Triple Crown. Traditionally, the Preakness is the middle race, held after the Kentucky Derby and before the Belmont Stakes. All three races were postponed due to the ongoing pandemic. The shortened Belmont Stakes was the first of the three, racing in June followed by the Kentucky Derby racing in September. Finally, 15 weeks after the Triple Crown began, the Preakness Stakes horses crossed the line in early October at Pimlico. 

For more information about the 2020 Kentucky Derby check out “The 2020 Kentucky Derby Is On.

2020 Preakness Stakes Competitors:

  1. Swiss Skydiver
  2. Authentic
  3. Jesus’ Team
  4. Art Collector
  5. Max Player
  6. Excession
  7. Mr. Big News
  8. Thousand Words
  9. Ny Traffic
  10. Pneumatic
  11. Liveyourbeastlife