the highwomen cowgirl magazine
Courtesy Alysse Gafkjen.……

The album Highwomen fans have been waiting for is finally out. The self-titled album from Low Country Sound/Elektra Records and produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb was released today, and was met with glowing reviews.

The New York Times called The Highwomen “a haunting, powerful tribute to the resilience of women through the ages,” while Rolling Stone noted that the album is “…as powerful as musical storytelling gets,” giving it five stars. Rolling Stone Country gave it a listen, too, reflecting, “The Highwomen is a country album for the ages, filled with joy, laughter, tears, pain, and shit-kicking honky-tonk soul.”

The A.V. Club gave some intutive insight into the band and its album, calling The Highwomen “a new supergroup that believes that if you’re going to dream, you might as well dream big…whose sweet harmonies and straightforward melody look back into country’s past while its empowering lyrics keep their eyes fixed on the future.”

“Anyone can be a Highwoman,” says Brandi Carlile. “It’s about banding together, abandoning as much ego as humanly possible, holding one another up and amplifying other women every chance we get. Shoulder to shoulder. One push, one love.”

Kicking off with their cover of The Highwaymen’s theme song, The Highwomen features several notable artists, including the musical talents of Sheryl Crow, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth, Chris Powell, Peter Levin, Dave Cobb, Yola, and Jason Isbell.

The Highwomen Track List

1. “Highwomen” (written by Jimmy Webb, Amanda Shires, Brandi Carlile)
2. “Redesigning Women” (written by Natalie Hemby, Rodney Clawson)
3. “Loose Change” (written by Maren Morris, Maggie Chapman, Daniel Layus)
4. “Crowded Table” (written by Natalie Hemby, Lori McKenna, Brandi Carlile)
5. “My Name Can’t Be Mama” (written by Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Amanda Shires)
6. “If She Ever Leaves Me” (written by Amanda Shires, Jason Isbell, Chris Thompkins)
7. “Old Soul” (written by Maren Morris, Luke Dick, Laura Veltz)
8. “Don’t Call Me” (written by Amanda Shires, Peter Levin)
9. “My Only Child” (written by Natalie Hemby, Amanda Shires, Miranda Lambert)
10. “Heaven Is A Honky Tonk” (written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Ray LaMontagne)
11. Cocktail And A Song (written by Amanda Shires)
12. Wheels Of Laredo (written by Tim Hanseroth, Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth)
Visit for more information about the band, and stream/download The Highwomen here.