Left photo courtesy of NBHA.com. Right photo courtesy of Cowgirl.net.……

Jerry Ann Taylor was a daring trick rider who brought glamour and spirit to the rodeo arena. A fund was started by her Husband Dutch Taylor, her mother Jo Matthews, and other donors after her passing in 2012. The award aims to reward cowgirls who carry the same sense of style as Jerry Ann. The WPRA partners with the National Cowgirl Hall of Fame to award the winner with $5,000. The winner’s name is also added to the plaque on display at the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame. 

Photo courtesy of WPRA.com

Two awards are given each year, one during the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo, and the other at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. This year’s award winner at the Wrangler NFR was professional barrel racer Tiany Schuster. Winners are determined by the highest number of votes from the selected judges as well as fan votes (fan voting is only at the Wrangler NFR).

Congratulations, Tiany!